Wednesday, 23 September 2009

Freestyle records have a bit of a treat for all you fans of the UK Jazzfunk era with this album release from The Baker Brothers - (Dan & Rich Baker and Chris Pedley). Some of us are old enough to have had the pleasure of hearing these tracks the first time around at venues up and down the UK. and this album has some iconic tunes to really hit the spot for people traditionally into this music or fans of the more recent retro soul/funk genre. Take some classic soul & funk dance tunes from that period, let the lads do their stuff from scratch and add some great vocalists and there you have "Avid Sounds". Vanessa Freeman vocal of the classic `Family Tree`is the stand out track for me however being a huge Gil Scot Heron fan, the `Lady Jane & John Coltrane` also shines. These tunes have been treated with all due respect and recreated with The Baker Brothers own style. Their version of the Backbyrds `Rock Creek Park` and the funk groove of `Shack Up` also contribute to the overall Jazzfunk theme.Well worth checking out.

01. Family Tree feat. Vanessa Freeman
02. Shack Up
03. Couldn't Get It Right
04. Space Funk
05. If You Want Me To Stay feat. Hamish Stuart
06. Street Player feat. Talc
07. Rock Creek Park
08. Lady Day & John Coltrane
09. Fly Like An Eagle feat. Matt Mcnaughton
10. Cola Bottle Baby
11. The Mexican feat. Katie Holmes

Freestyle Records & sound samples 

No comments:

Post a Comment